One of the main reasons Mama K Breaking Bath started in the first place, besides my obsession with making bath bombs, is I just don’t like all the chemicals used in bath and cosmetic products. The kiddo and I are also anti-animal testing when it comes to bath and beauty products. I’m pretty passionate about what goes on my and the kiddo’s body. I also try to be a good human and kind to the earth. That’s why:


• All the fragrances in my Mama K Breaking Bath products are phthalate-free.

What are phthalates and why should you care?  According to the NIH, “Phthalates are a group of chemicals used to soften and increase the flexibility of plastic and vinyl. Phthalates are used in many consumer products, including: Cosmetics and personal care products… The health effects of exposure to phthalates are not yet fully known but are being studied by several government agencies. One phthalate, Di (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP), is an endocrine disruptor and can cause cancer. Some phthalates may affect human reproduction or development”. 


• I use reusable glass containers whenever possible, otherwise it’s BPA-free plastic.


• I only use biodegradable glitter. 

Unlike regular cosmetic grade glitter, biodegradable glitter is made from biodegradable cellulose film. This means that once its in the natural environment, microbes consume it, causing no harm to the environment. Is it more expensive? You bet! Is it worth it? I think so.


• My candle wicks are 100% hemp and coated in beeswax.

While it’s true that lead-core wicks have been banned in the US for over 20 years, I wanted to know exactly what was burning in my candles and that they were chemical free. 


• My candles are 100% soy (not a soy/paraffin blend).

Many candles are made from paraffin, a petroleum byproduct, or a soy/paraffin blend. To create paraffin, petroleum waste is chemically bleached, deodorized and made into wax. When burned, paraffin wax can release toxic volatile organic compounds (VOCs) into the air including acetone, benzene and toluene, which are known carcinogens.


• I use SLSA (NOT SLS or SLES) which is derived from coconut and palm oils. 

What is SLSA? It is classified as a safe skin friendly surfactant for both skin and hair because of its large molecular structure. This mild plant derived surfactant creates a lather that effectively removes dirt and bacteria, without stripping or drying sensitive skin. SLSA is also hydrophillic, This means it is attracted to water, which enables it to dissolve more readily in water, thus providing superior rinse ability.  


• All my products are vegetarian and all but the lotions (which contain small amounts of beeswax) are vegan.

• I use organic ingredients whenever possible.


• All my products are homemade and handmade and are never tested on animals (although they are frequently used by a happy 9 year old child!).

I do all this because what goes into your bath and beauty products matters, at least to me. Know your ingredients! I’m happy to chat about what and why I use what I do anytime!

Happy Bathing!

Mama K

Published by Mama K

Just a single mom trying to build a small business, one bath bomb at a time...

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started